Blogs & Recipes

Beat the Heat

Temperatures can reach the upper 80s, 90s and even higher in North Carolina during the summer months. The temperature plus humidity can easily send the heat index into the 100’s. Staying cool can be tough. During this time, it is important to limit outdoor activities especially if you’re not properly hydrated. While everyone is at risk[…] Read More

Farmers’ Market- Celebrating Green Veggies

Spring is officially here, and green vegetables are in abundance! To celebrate, let’s explore some of our favorite recipes that have healthy green ingredients. Green Smoothie: https://www.morefood.org/green-smoothie/ Green Basilla Dip: https://www.morefood.org/green-basilla-dip/ Roasted Broccoli: https://www.morefood.org/roasted-broccoli/ Crunchy Kale Chips: https://www.morefood.org/crunchy-kale-chips/ Meatless Meal-Tofu with Broccoli: https://www.morefood.org/meatless-meal-tofu-with-broccoli/ Three Sisters Salad: https://www.morefood.org/three-sisters-salad/ Basic Quiche: https://www.morefood.org/basic-quiche/ Spring is also when Farmers’[…] Read More

Sweet Potato Salad

It’s always sweet potato season in North Carolina! Turn this recipe into your own by adding bacon, your favorite seasonings, or additional vegetables (additional ingredients are not represented in nutrition facts label). Head over to your local Farmers’ Market, grab some sweet potatoes and enjoy this dish. This dish is perfect for a light lunch,[…] Read More

Roasted Broccoli

Making sure we eat enough vegetables can sometimes be a challenge. We can meet the challenge by getting creative with vegetable consumption. Broccoli will be in-season during April and May in North Carolina so be sure to check your local Farmers’ Market to shop locally. Broccoli is low cost and if purchased fresh can easily[…] Read More